Our traditionnal Basque espadrilles have arrived!

Popularized by Brigitte Bardot in Saint-Tropez in the 1960’s espadrilles are a definite French tradition. Handmade in the South West of France by Artiga, these casual sandals are composed of a flexible rubber sole stitched to a 100% cotton upper. The traditional Basque stripes pattern comes in different bright colors to match your favourite outfits.

 

Basque linens are part of the Basque heritage. The uniqueness of these linens comes from their 7 stripes representing the 7 provinces of the Basque Region: 3 French provinces and 4 Spanish ones. The palette of colors is inspired from the strong regional tones which associate thin and wide stripes, the genuine signature of Basque fabrics. The patterns designed nowadays are a variation of the old mante à boeufs which was meant to protect working cattle from insects.

 

If you live in the Bay Area, feel free to come and visit us at Péché Mignon to try one pair on!  Our espadrilles are available in sizes 6 (36 French size), 6.5 (37), 7.5 (38), 8.5 (39), 9 (40) and 9.5 (41). We also take orders by the phone at (415) 221-6000 and ship anywhere in the US.

Péché Mignon is located in San Francisco, on 147 Clement Street, between 2nd and 3rd Avenue. Our opening hours are Tuesday to Saturday from 11 am to 7 pm, Sunday from 11 am to 5 pm.

 

Thank you!

Tags: , , , ,

4 Responses to “Our traditionnal Basque espadrilles have arrived!”

  1. Paul Jarsky Says:

    Do you wholesale espadrilles or have bulk pricing?

    • pechemignon Says:

      Hello Paul,

      It’s Diane from Peche Mignon. I’m sorry it took me so long to get back to you but a lot of things have happened in my life in the past few months. I’m going to the Paris tradeshow in a couple of weeks and can definitely place an order of espadrilles for you if you’re still interested.
      Please contact me at diane@Pechemignon.com if it’s the case and I will let you know what the wholesale price would be.
      Thank you.
      Sincerely,

      Diane Valranges

  2. Chez US Says:

    Hi,

    I have been looking High & Low for Basque Espardrilles – I am basque! Do you still have a good selection in the store? I may come by this week if my schedule permits! I adore the Basque linens as well, I love using as props in our food photography but usually only buy when in France (which as been a couple years now) as I can never find here.

    • pechemignon Says:

      Hello Denise,

      Thank you for your comment. I have closed my brick and mortar store a few months back but I happen to go to the Paris tradeshow in a couple of weeks where I will meet with my espadrilles supplier who’s from the Basque region.
      Would you like me to buy something for you? There is always a minimum order to place with a French supplier, but depending what you need this may be possible.
      Please contact me at diane@pechemignon.com if I can be of any help.
      Sincerely,

      Diane Valranges

Leave a Reply

